Thames Valley covers a relatively small geographical area centering on the counties of Oxfordshire, Berkshire and Buckinghamshire.

Most training at Higher level is based at one of the following Trusts, with all trainees spending at least part of their training in the Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation (OUH) Trust.

Buckinghamshire Healthcare NHS Trust  -

Frimley Health NHS Foundation Trust -

Milton Keynes University Hospital NHS Foundation Trust -

Royal Berkshire NHS Foundation Trust -

Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust -

Despite its small geographical size, the School organises training schemes in 24 medical specialities, including several very small specialities such as Sports and Exercise Medicine, and Clinical neurophysiology. Where certain sub specialities are not provided locally, many programmes have periods of secondment or reciprocal schemes with other Deaneries.

The major medical specialities are dual-accrediting programmes with (G)IM, and the programmes therefore balance training need in both this and the parent speciality when deciding upon individualised training rotations.

As a small region there are also several highly rated teaching programmes run locally.

Thames Valley actively encourages Higher Trainees in all specialities to undertake a period of OOP which is predominantly research-based leading to an MD or PhD. There is a very active academic school (OUCAGs) to support academic training pathways and careers.

Please use the following link to access the School of medicine webpage at the NHSE TV website, which has individual descriptions of our Speciality Programmes:

Oxford itself is an extraordinarily rich place to study and live; the other major towns in the region such as Reading and Milton Keynes can all provide top-class alternate attractions including culture, sporting and leisure activities, and there is a fantastic quality of life across the three counties.